Guy Healing to join the UK Register of Toxicologists Panel!

Guy Healing was recently selected from many applicants to join the panel of the UK register of toxicologists.

The UKRT was created in 1993 in response to the need for international harmonization and mutual recognition of toxicologists and is sponsored by The Royal Society of Biology and the British Toxicology Society.

By identifying professional toxicologists with suitable qualifications and experience, the Register fosters competence in practice and makes publicly available authoritative sources of information on toxicological matters.

‘Registration is a significant milestone for a toxicologist and is increasingly needed for career progression’, said Guy.  It’s a great honour to serve in this capacity especially since members of the UK Register gain automatic membership of the EUROTOX Register of Toxicologists’.

Guy takes up his 4-year term on the Panel at the January 2018 Panel meeting.

By |2018-07-11T15:36:02+00:00November 2nd, 2017|Toxicology|Comments Off on Guy Healing to join the UK Register of Toxicologists Panel!

About the Author:

Professor Ruth A Roberts, PhD, ATS, FBTS, ERT, FRSB, FRCPath Director and Cofounder, ApconiX, UK and Chair and Director of Drug Discovery, University of Birmingham, UK Ruth is chair of drug discovery at Birmingham University, UK and Cofounder of ApconiX, an integrated toxicology and ion channel company that brings together a team of world-renowned nonclinical safety experts with over 400 years of drug discovery and development experience. Previously, Ruth was Global Head of Regulatory Safety at AstraZeneca and Director of Toxicology for Aventis. Ruth is an established science professional bringing rigorous expert thinking to toxicology, drug discovery and drug development. With >140 publications in peer reviewed journals, she is focused on reducing attrition attributable to safety and toxicity. A former president of the British Toxicology Society, former president of EUROTOX, former secretary to SOT and president elect of the Academy of Toxicological Sciences, Ruth was the recipient of the SOT Achievement award in 2002, the EUROTOX Bo Holmstedt Award in 2009 and the SOT Founders award in 2018 for outstanding leadership in toxicology.