ApconiX Wins the King’s Award for Enterprise

King's Award for Enterprise 2024

ApconiX is delighted to announce that we have been honoured with a King’s Award for Enterprise: International Trade 2024.

ApconiX was founded by Dr Richard Knight, Professor Ruth Roberts and Dr Michael Morton, colleagues with the drive and ambition to create a world-renowned drug safety company.  The journey began with the idea to provide life science companies with access to high quality drug safety expertise, normally available only in large pharmaceutical companies.  ApconiX has previously won a Queen’s Award for International Trade in 2022.

In nine years of trading, ApconiX has grown to a +90 strong team, helping clients all over the world make better decisions on drug safety.

There are three key elements to the business: a consultancy group that advises clients on drug safety; a laboratory that screens new compounds for cardiac and seizure safety effects; and Acuity Target Safety Assessments (TSAs) that identify and evaluate potential safety concerns with a new drug target.

Our laboratory uses the latest generation instrumentation, has expanded to a wide range of assays and is carrying out novel research into neurological risk.  Expertise in other important areas has been added including medical devices, inhaled drugs, DMPK and biologics.

ApconiX opened an office in Gothenburg, Sweden in 2019 and has members of the team based in Sweden, Germany, North America, New Zealand and Israel.

Exporting is essential for ApconiX growth as drug research and development is a truly global endeavour and export revenue accounts for over 60% of turnover.  ApconiX has a unique business model in this space that has proved to be an attractive choice for clients all over the world who need flexible access to experienced drug safety scientists. This model works for companies of any size in any location.

Today ApconiX has clients all over the globe including South America, Japan, Southeast Asia and Australia, as well as well as the more established bioscience markets of Europe and North America.

Dr Richard Knight, Director, and Co-founder of ApconiX commented, “Receiving the King’s Award is a significant recognition for any UK business, and we are proud to receive our second award from The Palace in 3 years. It is a tremendous achievement and testament to our growing international reputation and the hard work and ambition of the whole team.  It is awarded because of our sustained growth and continued success in exporting ApconiX services overseas and our contribution to the UK economy.”

The King’s Awards for Enterprise, previously known as The Queen’s Awards for Enterprise, were renamed last year to reflect His Majesty The King’s desire to continue the legacy of HM Queen Elizabeth II’s by recognising outstanding UK businesses. The Award programme, now in its 58th year, is the most prestigious business award in the country, with successful businesses able to use the esteemed King’s Awards Emblem for the next five years.

About the King’s Awards for Enterprise

The awards were first established in 1965 and celebrate the success of exciting and innovative businesses which are leading the way with pioneering products or services, delivering impressive social mobility programmes, or showing their commitment to excellent sustainable development practices.

This year 252 businesses have been recognised for their contribution to International Trade, Innovation, Sustainable Development and Promoting Opportunity (through Social Mobility).

The King’s Awards for Enterprise 2023 include:

  • 161 Awards for International Trade
  • 59 Awards for Innovation
  • 29 Awards for Sustainable Development
  • 8 Awards for Promoting Opportunity (through social mobility)

The King’s Awards for Enterprise 2025 open for applications on The King’s Coronation Day, 6th May and close early-September 2024. Almost all UK businesses (including non-profit) can apply, and the application process is free. All applications must be made online, and organisations may apply for more than one category. All entry forms, eligibility criteria and information on how to apply is here.