RSB Presidents Dinner

Ruth Roberts (ApconiX) and Emma Walker (Kings College London) attended the Royal Society of Biology President’s Dinner May 2nd 2018 where they chatted with Stephen Benn about the great work he does as Vice-President of the Parliamentary and Scientific Committee and for the Society as their Director of Parliamentary Affairs.

Professor Dame Julia Goodfellow succeeded Professor Dame Jean Thomas Hon FRSB as President of the RSB, with handover taking place at the Annual General Meeting earlier that day.  Dame Julia was previously the Vice Chancellor of the University of Kent and former President of Universities UK. She is renowned for academic achievement in the fields of biophysics and biomolecular science.

Professor Jackie Hunter FRSB, RSB Council member and chief executive of BenevolentBio presented this year’s Charter lecture, entitled ‘How Artificial Intelligence is revolutionising Drug Discovery’.

The presentation of cutting edge computer-assisted disease and therapy research was much appreciated and lively discussion continued into the reception afterwards.

By |2018-07-22T19:09:38+00:00May 9th, 2018|Events|Comments Off on RSB Presidents Dinner

About the Author:

Professor Ruth A Roberts, PhD, ATS, FBTS, ERT, FRSB, FRCPath Director and Cofounder, ApconiX, UK and Chair and Director of Drug Discovery, University of Birmingham, UK Ruth is chair of drug discovery at Birmingham University, UK and Cofounder of ApconiX, an integrated toxicology and ion channel company that brings together a team of world-renowned nonclinical safety experts with over 400 years of drug discovery and development experience. Previously, Ruth was Global Head of Regulatory Safety at AstraZeneca and Director of Toxicology for Aventis. Ruth is an established science professional bringing rigorous expert thinking to toxicology, drug discovery and drug development. With >140 publications in peer reviewed journals, she is focused on reducing attrition attributable to safety and toxicity. A former president of the British Toxicology Society, former president of EUROTOX, former secretary to SOT and president elect of the Academy of Toxicological Sciences, Ruth was the recipient of the SOT Achievement award in 2002, the EUROTOX Bo Holmstedt Award in 2009 and the SOT Founders award in 2018 for outstanding leadership in toxicology.