ApconiX @ The BTS Congress 2018!

We were delighted to sponsor the poster and drinks reception at the annual British Toxicology Society meeting April 2018.

The posters were fascinating with lots of new data on topics such as differentiated pluripotent stem cells, predicting and avoiding drug-induced toxicity and characterisation of cardiac stem cells for assessment of cardiotoxicity.  There were also some outstanding talks both from established leaders and from early career students and postdocs.  Syril Pettit from HESI talked about ‘Collaboration, communication and caution‘ in implementation of research outputs.  On a similar theme, Mark Holbrook (VAST Pharma Solutions) addressed the challenge of using screening models to improve decision making in drug development and made the very clear point that the question being asked must be clearly defined if the data generated in such models are to be useful.  It was great to hear so much new science and to catch up with all our toxicology colleagues; we look forward to seeing you all in Cambridge in 2019.

If you’d like to know more about ApconiX ion channel services click here

By |2018-07-11T10:06:33+00:00April 18th, 2018|Events|Comments Off on ApconiX @ The BTS Congress 2018!

About the Author:

Professor Ruth A Roberts, PhD, ATS, FBTS, ERT, FRSB, FRCPath Director and Cofounder, ApconiX, UK and Chair and Director of Drug Discovery, University of Birmingham, UK Ruth is chair of drug discovery at Birmingham University, UK and Cofounder of ApconiX, an integrated toxicology and ion channel company that brings together a team of world-renowned nonclinical safety experts with over 400 years of drug discovery and development experience. Previously, Ruth was Global Head of Regulatory Safety at AstraZeneca and Director of Toxicology for Aventis. Ruth is an established science professional bringing rigorous expert thinking to toxicology, drug discovery and drug development. With >140 publications in peer reviewed journals, she is focused on reducing attrition attributable to safety and toxicity. A former president of the British Toxicology Society, former president of EUROTOX, former secretary to SOT and president elect of the Academy of Toxicological Sciences, Ruth was the recipient of the SOT Achievement award in 2002, the EUROTOX Bo Holmstedt Award in 2009 and the SOT Founders award in 2018 for outstanding leadership in toxicology.